WSYO/WSJYO CALENDAR,2017-18

 

WSYO Calendar-

 

See also the "What's New Page." 

 

The Windsor Symphony Youth Orchestra (WSYO) rehearses Saturdays from 3:00 to 5:15 p.m. Most rehearsals will be at the Capitol Theatre, (sometimes in the Joy and sometimes in the Pentastar room). Other rehearsals will be at Walkerville Collegiate in room 110 (enter by back parking lot). PLEASE BRING A STAND TO REHEARSALS (except Walkerville).

 

Below is the schedule for the year.

 

Concerts on Nov. 2 (at noon), Dec. 3, Feb. 23 (Side by side), March 11, and May 13.

 

Saturday, September 9, regular time (3:00-5:15), Capitol (Joy Theatre)
Friday, September 15, 6:30-9:00, "Fall Jam," UW School of Creative Arts - at Sunset & Wyandotte after all.  (New building downtown isn't ready yet). Bring music stands. Bring $10 for Saturday lunch.
Saturday, September 16, 9:30-5:00. More "Fall Jam," Capitol
Saturday, September 23 - regular time (3:00-5:15), Capitol (Pentastar Theatre)
Saturday, September 30 - Walkerville (regular time - 3:00-5:15)
Saturday, October 7 - Pentastar
Saturday, October 14 - Joy
Saturday, October 21 - Walkerville
Saturday, October 28 - Walkerville -
Thursday, November 2 - Panini Palooza (lunchtime concert) - arrive 11:10, concerts at 12 and 1, finish at 1:30, St. Clair Centre for the Arts
Saturday, November 4 - Walkerville 
Saturday, November 11 - Pentastar
 (woodwinds, brass and percussion arrive 2:40 to join junior orchestra rehearsal).
Saturday, November 18 - dress rehearsal for WSYO seniors playing with WSO. Arrive 10:30 for dress rehearsal 11:00-11:30. Mandatory rehearsal (Pentastar).
Saturday, November, 18 - 8:00 concert for 
WSYO seniors playing with WSO. Arrive 7:30.
Saturday, November 18 - Joy (woodwinds, brass and percussion arrive 2:40).
Tuesday, November 21 - Pentastar, 6:55-9:25 
Thursday, November 23 - Walkerville, 6:55-9:25 
Saturday, December 2 - Walkerville (woodwinds, brass and percussion arrive 2:40).
Sunday, December 3 - 7:30 concert (6:00 warmup rehearsal).
Saturday, December 9 - Walkerville - 2:45-4:45
Saturday, January 13 - Pentastar
Sunday, January 21 - Pentastar, 6:30-9:00 - changed from Saturday
Thursday, January 25 - Pentastar, 6:55-9:25 
Saturday, February 3 - Joy
Saturday, February 10 - Joy 
Saturday, February 17 - Pentastar
Wednesday, February 21 - evening rehearsal with new WSYO conductor candidates, arrive 6:30. Done at 9:00. Pentastar (this is added). No stands needed.
Thursday, February 22 - 7:00-9:30 (ARRIVE 6:30) - Side by side rehearsal with Windsor Symphony. Attendance mandatory - Pentastar

Friday, February 23 - 7:30 (Arrive 7:00) - Side by Side Concert
Saturday, March 3 - Joy. Those not in the Fashion Show Orchestra will be done at 4:15.
March 31 - rehearsal regular time, Pentastar. For those not playing in the Fashion Show, you will be done by 4:30.
Thursday, April 5 - strings only, 7:30-8:45 
Saturday, April 7 - Joy - (fashion show musicians only). Capitol, regular time.
Monday, April 9 - Rehearsal, 7:00-8:00, Ciociaro Club. Fashion show orchestra only.
Tuesday, April 10 - Fashion Show, Ciociaro Club - 8:00.
Saturday, April 14 - Walkerville
Saturday, April 21 - Joy
Sunday, April 29 - 6:55-9:25 - Joy.
Saturday, May 5 - Joy
Saturday, May 12 - Pentastar
Sunday, May 13 - 3:00-5:30 dress rehearsal, 7:00 concert (on stage by 6:40 please)

 

 

WSJYO CALENDAR

The Windsor Symphony Junior Youth Orchestra (WSJYO) usually rehearses usually on Saturdays from 1:45 to 3:00 p.m.(arrive at 1:30 - please don't arrive early as doors may be locked). There will be some exceptions to the regular time (see below). Most rehearsals are at the Capitol Theatre, and then some will be atWalkerville Collegiate in room 110. PLEASE BRING A STAND TO REHEARSALS AT THE CAPITOL.

 

Below is the schedule for the year. 

 

Concerts on Dec. 3 and May 13; possible daytime tour of three schools in February or March.

 

Saturday, September 9, regular time (1:45 - 3:00; arrive 1:30)Capitol (Joy Theatre)
Saturday, September 16, no rehearsal
Saturday, September 23 - regular time (1:45 - 3:00), Capitol (Pentastar Theatre)
Saturday, September 30 - Walkerville 
Saturday, October 7 - Pentastar
Saturday, October 14 - Joy
Saturday, October 21 - Walkerville
Saturday, October 28 - no rehearsal
Saturday, November 4 - Walkerville
Saturday, November 11 - Pentastar
Saturday, November 18 - Joy 
Sunday, November 19 - 6:30-8:15 (arrive 6:15), Pentastar
Friday November 24 - 6:30-8:00 (arrive 6:15), Vineyard Community Church, 1650 Howard. 
Saturday, December 2 - Walkerville
Sunday, December 3 - 7:30 concert (6:30 warmup rehearsal).
Saturday, December 9 - Walkerville - end early at 2:45; arrival is still 1:30. 
Saturday, January 13 - Pentastar
Sunday, January 21 - Pentastar, 4:00-5:15 - changed from Saturday
Saturday, January 27 - no rehearsal
Saturday, February 3 - Joy

Saturday, February 10 - Pentastar - cancelled
Saturday, February 17 - Pentastar
Saturday, February 24 - no rehearsal
Saturday, March 3 - Joy
Thursday, March 8 - 7:00-8:15 (arrive 6:45) 
Saturday, March 31 - regular rehearsal time, Pentastar
Saturday, April 7 - Joy - cancelled
Saturday, April 14 - Walkerville
Saturday, April 21 - Joy
Saturday, April 28 - no rehearsal
Saturday, May 5 - Joy
Saturday, May 12 - Pentastar
Sunday, May 13 - 5:45-6:20 warmup rehearsal, (arrive 5:30), 7:00 concert

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2016-17 schedule

Concerts on Nov. 27, Apr. 7 (Side by side), May 14, and possibly May 20. Special composers' reading event Feb. 18 (concert dates underlined below)


Seniors only: 
Thursday, Aug. 4, 6:30-8:00, rehearsal for WSYO seniors, Capitol (Joy Theatre). Use front doors on University Ave.
Thursday, Aug. 18, 6:30-8:00, rehearsal for WSYO seniors - Vineyard Church 
Thursday, September 8, 7:45-9:15, rehearsal for WSYO seniors, Capitol (Joy Theatre)

 

Saturday, September 10, 11:30-1:30Capitol (Joy Theatre)
Friday, September 16, 6:30-9:00, "Fall Jam," University of Windsor School of Creative Arts (Music Building).
Saturday, September 17, 10:00-5:00. More "Fall Jam," Capitol
Sunday, September 18, 6:30-8:30 - WSYO seniors rehearse with Robert Franz - Joy
Thursday, September 22 - rehearsal at 8:45 P.M. (arrive 8:20) for WSYO seniors with WSO - Capitol 
Friday, September 23 - rehearsal at 3:45 for WSYO seniors WITH WSO. 
Saturday, September 24 - 11:00 dress rehearsal, 8:00 concert, WSYO seniors with Windsor Symphony Orchestra. 
Saturday, September 24 - regular rehearsal (3:00; not mandatory for seniors) - Joy. Strings - you will be done at 4:00.
Saturday, October 1 - Pentastar - late start - 3:30. (Finish at 5:30). Arrive 3:15.
Saturday, October 8 - Pentastar
Saturday, October 15 - Pentastar 
Saturday, October 22 - Joy 
Saturday, October 29 - Walkerville (regular time - 3:00-5:15)
Saturday, November 5 - Walkerville (woodwinds, brass and percussion arrive 2:40 to join junior orchestra rehearsal. 
Thursday, November 10 - 7:00-9:30. Pentastar.
Sunday, November 13 - 2:00 - WSO Guild Scholarship Competition. Pentastar
Saturday, November 19 - Joy (woodwinds, brass and percussion arrive 2:40).
Tuesday, November 22, 7:20-9:30 - Pentastar - note new start time!
Saturday, November 26 - Joy (woodwinds, brass and percussion arrive 2:40)
Sunday, November 27 - 7:00 concert (5:30 warmup rehearsal) 
Saturday, December 3 - no rehearsal
Saturday, December 10 - Joy
Saturday, January 14 - Pentastar 
Thursday, January 19 - 7:00-9:30
Thursday, January 26 - 7:00-9:30 - Pentastar
Saturday, February 4 - Joy
Saturday, February 11 - Walkerville
Friday February 17 - rehearsal 6:45-9:15 for Composer reading day, Capitol Theatre 
Saturday, February 18 - Composer reading day - rehearsal 9:30-12:00, 2:00-3:10, public performance at 3:30.
Sunday, February 26 - 6:45-9:15 - Pentastar (changed from Feb. 25)
Saturday, March 4 - Joy
Saturday, March 11 - Joy?
Saturday, March 18 - no rehearsal 
Saturday, March 25 - Walkerville
Saturday, April 1- Joy 
Sunday, April 2 - 7:40 arrival. End at 9:40 (Capitol)
Thursday, April 6 - 7:00-9:30 (ARRIVE 6:30) - Side by side rehearsal with Windsor Symphony. Attendance mandatory - Pentastar
Friday, April 7 - 7:30 (Arrive 7:00) - Side by Side Concert
Saturday, April 8 - no rehearsal 
Saturday, April 15- Joy
Saturday, April 22- Pentastar
Saturday, April 29- Walkerville
Saturday, May 6 - Joy 
Thursday, May 11 - rehearsal, 6:15 Pentastar. This evening will include hearing a performance from a string quartet from Mexico. Evening ends around 9:15.
Saturday, May 13 - Pentastar
Sunday, May 14 - Rehearsal 2:45-4:00. In the evening, arrive 6:30 for the concert at 7:00 - Pentastar
Wednesday, June 28 - auditions, Capitol Theatre, late afternoon and evening - see auditions

Thursday, June 29 - auditions, Capitol Theatre, late afternoon and evening - see auditions

 

 

 

 

 

The Windsor Symphony Junior Youth Orchestra (WSJYO) usually rehearses usually on Saturdays from 1:45 to 3:00 p.m.(arrive at 1:30). There will be other times (see below). Most rehearsals are at the Capitol Theatre, and then some will be atWalkerville Collegiate in room 110. PLEASE BRING A STAND TO REHEARSALS AT THE CAPITOL.

 

Below is the schedule for the year. The Capitol Theatre is our regular venue.

 

Concerts on Nov. 27, May 14. School tour in February or March. (Concert dates underlined)


Saturday, September 10 (regular time) Capitol (Joy Theatre) 
Saturday, September 17, 
Capitol -
Saturday, September 24 - Joy
Saturday, October 1 - no rehearsal
Saturday, October 8 - Pentastar 
Saturday, October 15 - Pentastar
Saturday, October 22 - Joy 
Saturday, October 29 - 
Walkerville
Saturday, November 5 - Walkerville (regular time - arrive 1:30, finish 3:00)
Friday, November 11 - 7:00 - 8:30. Joy.

Saturday, November 19 - Joy
Tuesday, November 22 - arrive 6:20, finish about 7:25. Pentastar
Saturday, November 26 - Joy
Sunday, November 27 - 7:00 concert (6:00 warmup rehearsal) 
Saturday, December 3 - no rehearsal
Saturday, December 10 - Joy
Saturday, January 14 - Pentastar
Tuesday, January 24 - Pentastar - 6:45-8:30 (arrive 6:30. This rehearsal replaces Jan. 21 and 28, which have been cancelled).
Saturday, February 4 - Joy - arrive 1:50
Saturday, February 11 - 
Walkerville
Saturday, February 18 - No rehearsal
Saturday, February 25 - Pentastar
Saturday, March 4 - Joy
Saturday, March 11 - Pentastar
Saturday, March 18 - no rehearsal

Saturday, March 25 - Walkerville
Tuesday, March 28 - daytime tour of three schools
Saturday, April 1- Joy
Saturday, April 8 - no rehearsal
Saturday, April 15- Pentastar
Saturday, April 22- Pentastar
Saturday, April 29- 
Walkerville - arrive 1:50, not 1:30.
Saturday, May 6 - Joy
Saturday, May 13 - Pentastar
Sunday, May 14 - Rehearsal 1:25-2:30 (arrive 1:10), tonight arrive 6:30 for concert at 7:00 - Pentastar