S1E7: WSO Music Director Robert Franz continues his exploration into the life and genius of Ludwig van Beethoven with the String Quartet No. 7 Op. 59 No. 1, the first of Beethoven’s three “Razumovsky” cycle of string quartets. This work is considered the beginning of the composer’s “middle period,” where his composition style changes, demanding the highest virtuosity of the performers. WSO String Quartet members Lillian Scheirich, Émilie Paré, Roman Kosarev, and Andrew McIntosh join Maestro Franz in conversation about the joys and challenges of performing this work.


RELEASE DATE: November 14, 2020


Robert Franz, Conductor

Lillian Scheirich, Violin

Émilie Paré, Violin

Roman Kosarev, Viola

Andrew McIntosh, Cello 



String Quartet Op. 59 No. 1 by Ludwig van Beethoven


FEATURED LOCATION: House seating in the Captiol Theatre, Windsor, ON